Transcona Police 1912-1974

Transcona was incorporated in 1912 at which time a Police force was established. The Transcona Police Department had 29 members when it amalgamated with the Winnipeg Police on October 21, 1974.

History

The District known as Transcona was incorporated as the Town of Transcona on April 6, 1912, and was granted a City Charter in 1961.

Chiefs of Police:

1912
1912
1913-1914
1914-1918
1919
1920-1923
1923-1925
1925-1944
1945-1953
1953-1960
1960-1974

A Combined Police - Fire Department existed until 1974 with personnel serving as both Police Officers and firemen. These departments became separate entities in January of 1974 when the unification of all greater Winnipeg Police Departments took place.

The Transcona Police, with 29 members patrolled 9.3 square miles with a population of 26,500. Transcona became a part of District 4 in the new City of Winnipeg Police Department upon unification in 1974.

Shoulder Flashes













Pre-Amalgamation Staff List

Chief of Police: TERES, Joseph

Inspector: SHEFCHUK, Walter Sergeants: CAMPBELL, Douglas

M.HOLLIDAY, Frank ZARETSKI, Albert

Detective Sergeant:

PERCH, Peter

Detectives:

HAACK, John A.

LUCKI, Joseph

Constables: BRUCE, Donald L.

CARTWRIGHT, Ronald A.

CHUDLEY, Bruce R. EVANS, N. William HYDE, Allistair J. KLATT, Alexander W. KOZACHUK, John I. KRAMBLE, Brian A. PENNER, Richard E. PERRICK, Paul RAND, Barry G. ROBERTS, Gerald C. ROSS, John K. STOLAR, Monty P. TURNER, Thomas R. VALLIS, William WILGOSH, Robert D. WINGATE, T. Joseph WORDEN, William YOUNG, William M. ZABOWSKI, Edward

Hat Badge



Wallet Badges



The Winnipeg Police Museum is always seeking information, pictures or stories about the preamalgamation forces. If you have information on this department, please send an email to the Winnipeg Police Museum at

wps-museum@winnipeg.ca