St. Boniface Police 1881-1974

St. Boniface was established as a mainly French speaking village on the east side of the Red River in the early fur trading days. It became a municipality in 1880 and appointed it's first Policeman in 1881. The St. Boniface Police Department had 51 members when it amalgamated with the Winnipeg Police on October 21, 1974.



History

St. Boniface was established as a settlement in the early 1800's and became known as the "Cathedral Villiage" because the first bishop was responsible for appointing Law Enforcement Officers.

On March 10, 1881, J. B. JOYAL was appointed constable and the following year L. LAFRANCHISE became "Chef de Police". JOYAL however succeeded him in 1883 when St. Boniface became a town, and held the Position until his retirement in 1897. LAFRANCHISE returned in this year to serve until 1899, and was succeeded by Chief Constable Ligouri GAGNE when St. Boniface became a City in 1908. He retired in 1913, and the following Chief Constables held office in subsequent years:

Leo MARCEL	1913-1921
Thomas GAGNON	1921-1929
Victor AUDETTE	1929-1930

Joseph A. BAUDRY, became one of the youngest Chief Constables in Canada at 35 years of age when appointed in 1930, and remained in office for 30 years. During his term, the Police force progressed from strictly "foot patrol" to radio equipped cruiser cars. In 1960, Chief BAUDRY was succeeded by William RUSSEL who remained in office until 1968 when Francois A. MULLER took over command. Chief MULLER held the position until the unification of all Greater Winnipeg Police Forces in 1974. He was then appointed Assistant Deputy Chief Constable (field operations) of the new City of Winnipeg force.

The St. Boniface Police Force, with an establishment of 51, served a population of 49,000 and became part of District 5 of the City of Winnipeg Police Department upon unification in 1974.

Two St. Boniface Police Officers lost their lives in execution of their duty. Sergeant Jules VERNE in 1934, and Constable Leonard SHAKESPEAR in 1969.

Pre-Amalgamation Staff List

Chief of Police: MULLER, Francois A.

Detective Inspector: NORDAL, Elmer

Uniform Inspectors: FINLAYSON, J. Wesley

McKALL, Mike

Sergeants: CLAVELLE, George

LACROIX, Leo

MIKALCHUK, Joseph

MILLER, Eric MITEREK, James

DetectiveSergeants:

BIRD, R. Cameron
HAGGLUND, Gordon

Patrol Sergeant: TEMPLEMAN, John

Detectives: BRADLEY, Gordon

DERKACH, Walter DOPSON, Gordon GARIEPY, Raymond RUDNICK, Walter THOMPSON, Robert C.

Constables: ANKROM, Kenneth

BOURBONNAIS, Paul BOURRIER, Richard BOYD, Barry R. CARRETTE, Donald CHAMBERS, Ronald A. DOINNE, Bernard DONALDSON, Wilfred

EVANS, Gary B.
FEENER, Donald
FERLAND, Giles
FREEMAN, J. Robert
GILES, Lynwood A.
GORMAN, Phillipe R.
GREEN, Anthony
HOGLUND, Ronald E.
HUYDA, Dennis

KIHN, Helmut KRAHN, Ronald











Hat Badges

LABERGE, Louis
MALCOLMSON, Cam
MARION, Ernest D.
MATTHEWS, Craig T.
McKINNON, Donald J.
McLEAN, Donald
MORIN, Ronald
MUNROE, Fred A.
ROBERT, Denis
ROSS, Noel
SCOTT, Barrie M.
SMYTH, Al L.
TOYNE, Dennis
TUCK, Gordon O.





Hat Badges

Wallet Badges



































The Winnipeg Police Museum is always seeking information, pictures or stories about the preamalgamation forces. If you have information on this department, please send an email to the Winnipeg Police Museum at

wps-museum@winnipeg.ca