St. James Police Department 1921-1969

The original City of St. James Police Department (61 members) absorbed the Village of Brooklands Police Department (5 members) when the two areas amalgamated in 1967. In 1969, the Assiniboia Police Department (16 members), was also absorbed by the St. James Police and the name changed to the St. James-Assiniboia Police Department. The St. James-Assiniboia Police Department later amalgamated with the Winnipeg Police on October 21, 1974.







History

The large District of Assiniboia became a Municipality in 1880 and originally included the area of St. James. Later in 1881, the Council appointed James HALLETT and Frank NESS as Constables to create the Assiniboia Police Force. In 1921, St. James became a separate Municipality with it's own Police Force headed by Chief Herbert WALTON. The Law Enforcement Officer for Assiniboia was Constable DIXON during this time.



Shoulder Flashes

Chief WALTON was succeeded by William ATKEN, followed by George MCCONNEL, William GARTHSIDE, Donald MACDONALD and Joseph BAGLEY.

In 1956, St. James was granted City status, and in 1967 absorbed the Village of Brooklands with its 5 man Police Force headed by chief William SMERCHANSKI.

A further change in 1969 saw the amalgamation of the City of St. James and the Rural Municipality of Assiniboia. The 16 member Assiniboia Police Force headed by Chief Ken MCCASKILL, joined with the St. James Police to form the new St. James-Assiniboia Police Department. George MALTBY became Chief Constable with MCCASKILL and Herbert ROGERS as his deputies.





Hat Badges

Pre-Amalgamation Staff List

Chief of Police: ROGERS, Herb

Inspectors: DUNMALL, George

SUPEENE, George

Sergeants: DAVILL, Dennis

HANIS, Henry H.
HARDY, Cliff
JASPER, Victor
NELSON, Norman
STEVENSON, James

Detective BLANCHARD, Elmer J.

Sergeants: BRYSON, George

Patrol Sergeants: LEISHMAN, Robert

WALPOLE, Reg

Detectives: BRIDGEWATER , Robert

CRERAN, Ronald J. ESSERY, Robert J. HOLMES, Douglas KOWAL, Victor C. McLEAN, Wesley A. PARKER, James A. SUMMERS, Douglas R.

Constables: ALTHAM, Michael

BEDDINGTON, William E.

BELL, William W.
BOSTOCK, Roy
BROWN, Robert E.
CARLTON, J. Ernest
CORNEILLIE, Murray A.
CORRIE, Robert A.
CUGNET, James E.
DROMO, Ken
ELENDUIK, William
ESTELLA, Sergio
FRIESEN, William C.

HRIESEN, WIIIIAM C.
GILL, Robert G.
HEINRICHS, D. Roy
HENDERSON, A. Dan
HEWEY, James A.
HOLMES, H. Larry
HOWARD, Robert W. N.
JONES, Stephen W.
KNOCKAERT, Richard G.

Helmet Plates





Wallet Badges





KOZIKIS, Rita O. M. MARTINOS, C. Steve McGREGOR, Terry D. McLENNAN, Ross R. McMILLAN, Leonard E. MILLER, Roger B. MOIR, Lawrence A. POPE, Gerald D. RAUTAVOURI, William ROBSON, James W. SANDELL, Gary A. SCOTT, Daniel E. SOUTHALL, Geoffrey W. STOLAR, Jerry C. THOMAS, Kenneth E. THORNDYCRAFT, Bruce WATSON, George WELGUSH, Ronald S. WILLIAMS, Alan D.

Wallet Badges (continued...)





The Winnipeg Police Museum is always seeking information, pictures or stories about the preamalgamation forces. If you have information on this department, please send an email to the Winnipeg Police Museum at

wps-museum@winnipeg.ca