Tuxedo Police 1913-1972

The town of Tuxedo was incorporated in 1913, and originally patrolled by it's own Constables until 1944. It as then patrolled by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police until 1957 when the municipality re-established it's own Police Force. Tuxedo Police consisted of 5 members when it amalgamated with the Winnipeg Police on October 21, 1972, in preparation for the amalgamation of all forces in 1974.

History

The Town of Tuxedo was incorporated on February 14, 1913 and local police officers were responsible for the maintenance of law and order. In 1957 the town council appointed Regis NEWTON as the first Chief Constable, formally creating the Tuxedo Police Force. NEWTON served

until 1960 when Reginald ALCOCK succeeded him. ALCOCK remained in that position until his retirement in 1972 when the Town of Tuxedo Police Force became unified with the City of Winnipeg Police Department. At that time the Tuxedo force consisted of one chief Constable, one Sergeant, one Patrol Sergeant, and three constables who were responsible for patrolling an area of 8 square miles while serving a population of 3,800.

Fort Rouge or "B" Division of the Winnipeg Police Force was extended to include the Tuxedo Area, with a Divisional Headquarters being set up in the vacated Tuxedo Police Station. The entire area became part of District 6 when unification of all the Greater Winnipeg Police Forces took place in 1974.

Pre-Amalgamation Staff List

Chief of Police:	ALCOCK, Reginald (retired before amalgamation)
Sergeant:	BROWN, Richard L.
Patrol Sergeant:	ATEAH, Carl F.
Constables:	BOUTANG, David H. DUNCAN, George I. THORNHILL, Allan W.

The Winnipeg Police Museum is always seeking information, pictures or stories about the preamalgamation forces. If you have information on this department, please send an email to the Winnipeg Police Museum at <u>wps-museum@winnipeg.ca</u>

Shoulder Flashes

